Final Final…Final Fantasy

by

I once loved the Final Fantasy series like a family member. A family member who I saw every couple of years and who provided me with hours upon hours of fun. I now liken the series to an ageing family member who is trying new “cool” things that are failing miserably and who I’m ashamed to say I once loved. I don’t invite them to my house anymore because I’m disappointed in their choices and am worried their presence will sully the good memories I hold so dear.

Yes, I’m being a tad melodramatic. But in a gaming market so distinctly lacking any manner of decent RPG, this betrayal strikes deep. In 1999 I played my first Final Fantasy game.

It was Final Fantasy VIII and it was beautiful. It came at the perfect time for me. I was slowly starting to prefer PC games because they had a more diverse spread of genres and I wanted to think strategically in games….not just jump on mushrooms and head butt bricks. Baldur’s Gate had come and gone and it had a ridiculous impact. A rich storyline, memorable characters and a battle system so deep most of its inner nerd filled workings were hidden from the player. I didn’t believe such a feat could be achieved on a system reserved for beat ‘em ups and platform titles. By this time I’d heard of Final Fantasy VII but hadn’t played it for any extensive period. My exact Final Fantasy timeline reads like this.

Final Fantasy VII: Played a handful of times, but didn’t really grab me. I’d felt like I joined the Final Fantasy party half way through and it seemed to suck all the buzz out of it.

Final Fantasy VIII: RPGing heaven. At first complex and daunting, but the most satisfying game to master.

Final Fantasy IX: Less good/memorable but still enjoyable. The last of the series before it jumped solely to ps2.

Final Fantasy X: Horrifically linear in parts with a horrible sub game (WTF was blitzball??) But a beautiful and engaging story nonetheless.

Final Fantasy XI: Online version of the series. Trying to install this on my PC somehow bugged my system to fuckery. Little did I know this marked the beginning of the end.

Final Fantasy XII: Abandonment of my much loved turn based battle system. I played through for a good 6-8 hours before realizing that I paid money for and was playing an actual piece of shit in disc form.

Final Fantasy XII-2: Words can’t express how much of a travesty this game was. Well they can but I don’t want to spend the rest of the blog swearing.

 

So this brings us to Final Fantasy XIII, which released a couple of days ago.

In regards this series I’m on a precipice. Half of what I’ve played I’ve loved and half of what I’ve played I’ve hated with a passion. I realize I’m counting out Final Fantasy tactics (which I did enjoy) but my bias towards handheld games means I can’t count it within bigger titles. Final Fantasy XIII is the decider for me and considering below average reviews my hopes aren’t high. The nostalgic part of me is holding onto the shred of hope that my long forgotten family member can pull it out of the bag…and be entertaining once more.

Leave a Reply

