Armchair General

by

So in the continued tradition of me writing for this blog, I am going to write about games on here that none of my writing cohorts really care much about. This game is: Civilization V and strategy gaming in general.

 

Like the Final Fantasy series, the Civilization series has had a defining impact on my lifelong gaming addiction.

 

The first strategy game I ever played was a SNES title which combined the building of an ancient town with trawling through a dungeon. You’d be building your town and via the story something would happen that would mean your character had to descend into a cave in order to defend said town against a threat. I was indifferent to the action parts; I loved the town building parts.

 

By the time I discovered Civilization 2 there was no turning back. After creating a civilization from horse drawn chariots to spaceships, jumping in pipes or collecting coins with a blue hedgehog wasn’t going to cut it for me. My eyes had been opened to a type of gaming that wasn’t based on an A to B storyline, or performing the same action repeatedly.

 

The Total War series further compounded upon this. Not only did Rome: Total War incorporate the building of one of the most renowned civilizations in existence, but it also included battles involving tens of thousands of troops all at your command.

In today’s attention deficit disorder gaming market, strategy games are continually marginalized. The PC is the perfect platform for them and it is here that Civilization 5 will end my social life in the 4th quarter of this year. Every time a new Civilization title is announced I get a warm sense of excitement in my nether regions. This recent offering looks beautiful and every day that goes by without new details is like torture to my soul. But alas, good things come to those who wait.

http://www.civilization5.com/

Leave a Reply

